Home > Uncategorized > Twitter – is it really worth my time?

Twitter – is it really worth my time?

I have to admit that initially I thought that no TWITTER was not for me. Still I jumped in and after a slow start am now finding more reasons to “tweet”. After investing the time to discover & “follow” others with similar interest, I am now finding it to be a really useful medium to stay connected with a likeminded community. I also like the ability to “shout out” when something needs to be said & there is nobody close by to hear me rant 🙂

Professionally, I’m looking at using Yammer to collaborate with a distinct user group here at work – will let you know how it goes….

Actually, thinking further about this Twitter business, I think there are a couple of key points to make it work –
* Follow a theme or core topic for the majority of your posts. That way it ensures relevance for your Followers
* The occasional candid comment is ok, but who really cares about these trivial things?
* Post frequently, even several times/day
* And share information that maybe of value to your community

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 4, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Hi, Paul,

    I had exactly the same thoughts on my mind just like you.

    Well, before actually jump in and start using Twitter, I believe that most people (including myself) just couldn’t “imagine” how it can be good or useful. I had to use Twitter due to it was a requirement of the unit Web 2.0 at QUT, and I think it did take me some times to actually understand the main purpose or benefits of using it.

    I’m still using it at the moment because it’s a really useful tool for me to stay connected with topics I’m interested in and to know about the current trends or popular topics around the world.

    Also, I took a look at Yammer and it seems to be a great tool for collaborating. A similar service I would like to share about is Basecamp, it is used by a lot of enterprise/companies, too.

    -Jeff

  2. August 5, 2009 at 8:38 am

    I agree Jeff. I am now finding that the tweets can also be a source of relevant information. Also finding a community of likeminded people is great!

  3. August 7, 2009 at 3:03 am

    edit: The example I provided in my previous post (Basecamp) seems to be a little bit different to the one you mentioned (Yammer).

    I think Yammer is closer to the definition of a “enterprise 2.0 app” so again thanks for sharing, I’ll try it out if i get the chance (it’s a private network and registration requires a valid company email..)
    -Jeff

  4. August 7, 2009 at 3:26 am

    Hey Jeff, yes we are using Yammer as our internal version of Twitter. Interestingly the major users are IT and the sales & marketing guys.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

